Internet South Africa - AGM 2023

Date: Thursday, 22 June 2023

Venue 1: Protea Fire & Ice Hotel, Kloof Street, Cape Town Venue 2: Protea Hotel Wanderers, Johannesburg

Time: 18:00 - 20:00

Members in Attendance - Cape Town (8):

Liberty Bwanali

Chris Geerdts

Thoko Miya

Coenraad Loubser

Shaun Courtney

Adri Loubser

Michael Graaf

Alan Levin

Members in Attendance - Johannesburg (8):

Kopano Ramashala

Bongani Masseela

Nichodimus Malebye

Sello Mphela

Thabang Moloto

Kodishang Tshwaane

More Manda

Peter Peele

Members in Attendance - Online (19):

Bongiwe Dlutu

Clifford Sibanda

Dirk

Dreschel Scheepers

Gaylord Obert Gatsheni Ndlovu

Khwezi Flatela

Kwazi Nwana

lebogang nkoane

Makabongwe Metuso

Molehe Wesi

Mondli Mungwe - Durban

Nokuzola Zingithwa

Nomonde Gongxeka-Seopa

Preggy

Sikho Msomi

Sthembiso Xhakaza

William Stucke ZA - Mark Elkins Zaid Adam

Minutes:

Full presentation can be viewed here

The Chairperson welcomed members to the 4th AGM of Internet South Africa meeting and delivered the Chairperson's report.

Minutes from previous AGM:

(2021) Previous Year

- 83 new members since last AGM
- Access to Foundation Grants
- Access to Foundation Fellowship
- Local
 - o Chapterthon 2021
 - Connect with other members: https://connect.internetsociety.org/ + Facebook
 - Ways to Volunteer and Participate: Blogging, Meetings, Webinar, Videos, etc
- Areas of Improvement
 - Goals and Actions for 2022. Where to from here?

(2022) Last year: (up until June)

- 27 new members since last AGM
- Participated in Chapterthon 2021
- ISOC Rankings: Maintained our Megabit Chapter standing
- Improvements to our website
- Review of member activities
- Reviewed grant options

Financial Report, Committee Selection

The past year:

- 47 new members since last AGM
- ISOC Rankings: Maintained our Megabit Chapter standing
- Member Activities:
 - o Safer Internet Day 2023
 - o International Girls in ICT Day 2023

The year ahead:

- Participation Opportunities
 - o Grants & Fellowships
 - Connect with other members
 - Ways to volunteer and support
 - O What do we need?

- Areas of improvement
- Activity Calendar:
 - Webinar: Universal Acceptance (July)
 - Webinar/Workshop: How to write an ISOC Grant Proposal (August)
 - Registrar Reseller Training (September)
 - Webinar Series: Internet Governance Fundamentals (September)
 - Africa Internet Summit 2023 (September)
 - Registrar Reseller Training (October)
 - Internet Service Providers Training (October)
 - o Remote Hub: IGF Japan (October)
 - Global Encryption Day (October)
 - Training: Coding Skills Program for Women and Girls in Internet and Business (January 2024)
 - o International Girls in ICT Day (March 2024)

Financial Report

All finances are in Wave Apps. Access can be requested from the Treasurer.

Item		Money Received	Money Spent
Opening Balance	R28,202.82		
Admin Grant (Allocated)		R41,296.84	
- Website/DNS/Mail/Mailing lists hosting (annual)			R1,325.50
- Banking Fees			R1,135.00
- Zoom Membership			R343.08
- AGM Event			R23,910.00
Total		R41,296.84	R26,713.58
Trial Closing Balance	R42,786.08		

Admin Budget Allocation:

Bank fees	R1,104
Zoom license	R3,800
Membership stationery	R3,000
Website hosting and domain registration	R1,271
AGM meetings	R20,000
Website and promotional materials.	R4,000
Gifts/promotional material for chapter events	R4,000
Brochures, roll up banner etc	R4,000
Total (ZAR/USD Dependant)	R41,175

Change in the voting process:

According to our Chapter Constitution, the selection process has the following rules:

- Nominees must be a Chapter member
- Only Chapter members may nominate
- Once a person is nominated, the nomination must be seconded
- The nominee may accept or decline the nomination.
- Roles will be assigned at the first board meeting
- A minimum of 4 officers are needed (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer)

The selection process that we followed:

- 1. Members were nominated by members via a Google form
- 2. The committee reviewed the nominations on 13 June during the last board meeting. Here nominations were seconded and eligibility checked.
- 3. All seconded members were contacted and asked to accept or decline the nomination.
- 4. If there had been too many nominations, we would have needed to vote in order to bring the final committee size down.
- 5. However, since there were only 10 final nominations that all met the Constitution's criteria, voting is not necessary.

Clause 5.2.2: "The immediately preceding chairperson" automatically becomes part of the new Executive Committee. As Adri Loubser is stepping down as Chair, she is exempted from the nomination and gets a seat on the committee by default.

2023/2024 Committee selection:

Chris Geerdts
Shaun Courtney
William Stucke
Bongiwe Dlutu
More Manda
Wadzanai Chihombori-Ndlovu
Kodishang Tshwaane
Peter Peele
Alan Levin
Thoko Miya
Adri Loubser

Roles and responsibilities to be decided at the first committee meeting (date tbc).

Sincerely

Adri Loubser Committee Member 24 June 2023